Advisory Committee

Scientific Advisory Committee

We are very pleased to present the Foundation of Hope’s Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC). With their expert guidance, we invite scientists from the Department of Psychiatry at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to apply annually for research grants. The SAC then helps us direct funding to the most promising research proposals, and later, ensure quality of research throughout each research team’s grant period.

Thanks to the SAC, the Foundation of Hope has funded 128 scientific research grants totaling over $5 million. These local research grants have attracted significant funding from the National Institute of Mental Health, reaching sums of over $145 million. The Foundation of Hope’s projects have positively impacted not only the families and communities of the mentally ill, but also mental health research throughout the United States and around the world.


Bradley N. Gaynes, M.D., MPH

Professor of Psychiatry, UNC-CH
Associate Chair of Research Training and Education
Adjunct Professor of Epidemiology 






John H. Gilmore, M.D.

Thad and Alice Eure Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry
Vice Chair for Research and Scientific Affairs, UNC-CH
Director, Center for Excellence in Community Mental Health






David R. Rubinow, M.D.

Assad Meymandi Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry
Chair of Psychiatry, UNC-CH






Michael N. Zarzar, M.D.
Zarzar Psychiatric Associates, PLLL